June 23, 1961

On June 23, 1961, Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Chile, France, Japan, New Zealand, Norway, South Africa, United Kingdom, United States and USSR signed the Antarctic Treaty. This treaty ensured that Antarctica would only be used for peaceful purposes. Countries would act in international cooperation for scientific research and to protect the native animal populations. Contrary to some conspiracy theorists, it was not secretly enacted to prevent the world’s population from discovering that Antarctica was in reality a HUGE ice-wall that had laser-beam turrets that encircled the Earth. That’s because the Earth isn’t flat. It’s shaped like a beef and bean burrito and is a nursery for the offspring of the aliens from the red dwarf star, Luyten’s Star. They look like really tall Emperor Penguins, except they actually wear a top-hat when they think the photographers from National Geographic aren’t looking.

About Joel Byers

Born in North Georgia and educated at some very fine public institutions. Real education started after graduating from college and then getting married and raising two boys. Has the ability to see the funny and absurd in most things and will always remark on it, even if it means getting the stink-eye from his victims.
This entry was posted in 20th Century, Historical Facts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *