June 10, 1776

On This Date in TWISTED-HISTORY.com! in 1776 the Continental Congress appointed a committee to write a Declaration of Independence. The committee consisted of Thomas Jefferson, John Adams, Benjamin Franklin, Roger Sherman, and Robert R. Livingston. John Adams, knowing Thomas Jefferson’s gifts with a pen, urged him to write it, which he did. The document was then carefully reviewed and revised by Ben Franklin before it was sent to John Adams to review, who removed Ben Franklin’s addition of “the right of All Men to Party with Hot Bitches” before sending it to the Continental Congress.

About Joel Byers

Born in North Georgia and educated at some very fine public institutions. Real education started after graduating from college and then getting married and raising two boys. Has the ability to see the funny and absurd in most things and will always remark on it, even if it means getting the stink-eye from his victims.
This entry was posted in 18th Century, Historical Facts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *